MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: January 28, 2011

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center, New Brunswick Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Akincigil, Aspray, Barnett, Barone, Beachem, Bhuyan, Binetti, Bodnar, Boikess, Borisovets, Brennan, Buchholtz, Cachel, Canavan, Clarke, Cooper, Cosandey, Cotter, Creese, David, DeLisi, Dougherty, Dutta, Edwards, Farris, Figueira, Finegold, Fishbein, Furmanski, Garcia, Gillett, Gomes, Goodman, Gould, Grillo, Guo, Gursoy, Heckscher, Helgeson, Hill, Hughes, Hyndman, Iraninejad, Jimenez, Kalelkar, Katz, Lawton, Le, Leath, Levine, Leyva, Loftus, Maher, Mann, Markert, Markowitz, McCormick, McLean, Messer, Milliman, Minsky, Molloy, Murphy, Muse, Narayan, Nayyar, Norville, Nycz, O'Connor, Oza, Panayotatos, Patel, Potenza, Puhak, Rabinowitz, H. Roth, Rosario, Sabo, Sahi, Samarakone, Sanchez, Schantz, Schnetzer, Schorr, Schrire, Shapiro, Sheflin, Simmons, Sandeep Singh, Smith, Solomon, Spasojevic, Spellmeyer, Spiegel, Stauffer, Stein, Stillwagon, Szatrowski, Szczesna, Tancs, F. Thompson, K. Thompson, Toney-Boss, Tu, Vodak, Wagner, Wang, Watson, Wilson, Winkler,Wu, Wyhopen, Yoon, Yu, Zaki, Zimmerman

EXCUSED: Ayres, Bhanot, Bittner, Blumenthal, Boylan, Bubb, Caprio, Czaplicki, DiVito, Ellis, Foglio, Ganesh, Gaunt, Greenhut, Gunkel, Gurfinkiel, Hmelo-Silver, Hoffman, Janes, Kolasis,Kukor, Lewis, Li, Maheta, McKay, McKeever, M. Miller, Mojaddedi, Perrone, Pirrello, Jaskamal Singh, Swartley-McArdle, White, Winterbauer, Won, Yeagle

ABSENT: Abercombie, Amirahmadi, Atkins, Barraco, Breslaw, Bruno, Buch, Clear, Dighton, Diner, Farmer, Fehn, Fensterheim, Gabriel, Gao, Greenberg, Hanebrink, Herbert, Holzemer, Holzer, Hudson, Jasey, Jerome-DeMilia, Kheiralla, Lee, Lerner, Levinson, Lo Balbo, Lynch, MacLennan, Marsh, Mazurek, J. Miller, Morrisette, Muslah, Niederman, Pero, Pinchuk, Pritchett, Prowse, G. Roth, Salvino, Schement, Scher, Saurabh Singh, Spath, Violette, Weinstein, Woolcott

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 95 total: 62 present (65%), 16 excused (17%), 17 absent (18%); Students: Of 54 total: 27 present (50%), 8 excused (15%), 19 absent (35%); Administrators: Of 34 total: 14 present (41%), 9 excused (27%), 11 absent (32%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 5 present (83%), 0 excused, 1 absent (17%); Staff: Of 13 total: 8 present (62%), 3 excused (23%), 2 absent (15%)

View Senate Attendance Record for this year

PRESIDING OFFICER: Paul Panayotatos, Chairperson


Chairperson Panayotatos called the meeting to order at 1:17 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the Rutgers Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. His chairperson's report included comments on:
SECRETARY'S REPORT - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary

University Structure and Governance Committee (USGC) Response to Charge S-0712 on Enhanced Shared Governance, and University Senate and Draft Senate Handbook Changes - Peter Gillett, USGC Chair
This report included recommended changes to Senate bylaws, and was therefore introduced at the previous Senate meeting, and was docketed for action at this meeting. Senator Gillett, chair of the Senate's University Structure and Governance Committee, summarized his committee's report and its recommendations. Without further discussion, the report and its recommendations were adopted unanimously by the Senate.
University Structure and Governance Committee Response to Charge S-1006 on Staggered Terms for Staff Senators - Peter Gillett, USGC Chair
Senator Gillett summarized his committee's report and its recommendations on implementing staggered terms for staff Senators, and read the recommendation at the end of the report. Without further discussion, the report and its recommendations were adopted unanimously by the Senate.

Academic Standards, Regulations and Admissions Committee (ASRAC)  Response to Charge S-1010 on New Academic Integrity Policy and a companion document entitled "Procedures for Adjudicating Alleged Nonseparable Violations of Academic Integrity" - Martha Cotter and Dan Schantz, ASRAC Co-chairs
Senators Cotter and Schantz, co-chairs of the Academic Standards, Regulations and Admissions Committee, presented their committee's report and recommendations in response to Charge S-1010, which called for a review of the New Academic Integrity Policy. Cotter summarized the background and process of revising the Academic Integrity Policy. Schantz then read the report's recommendations and resolution. Following brief discussion (the new Academic Integrity Policy drafts having been reviewed and discussed by the Senate at previous meetings), the report and its recommendations were adopted unanimously by the Senate. Cotter thanked all the committees involved in revising the Academic Integrity Policy.

OLD BUSINESS: There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - President Richard L. McCormick

President McCormick, noting that Executive Vice President Furmanski's New Brunswick Campus Report would follow his own administrative report, spoke briefly and responded to questions on the Report of the Task Force on Higher Education, and, in particular, the sections on Rutgers.

NEW BRUNSWICK CAMPUS REPORT - Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Philip Furmanski

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Philip Furmanski presented a New Brunswick campus report. A summary of the report, will be posted online shortly.

REPORT ON PROJECT CIVILITY - Kathleen Hull, Project Civility Co-Founder, and Director of Byrne Family First-Year Seminars

Kathleen Hull, Project Civility Co-Founder, and Michelle Brazier, Senior Executive Associate in the Office of Undergraduate Education, presented a video and information on Project Civility. They then responded to questions and heard comments on their presentation. Hull, who is also Director of Byrne Family First-Year Seminars, asked any faculty who may be thinking about teaching a Byrne seminar next year to contact her.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT: Vice Chairperson Ann Gould reported on the January 14, 2011 Senate Executive Committee meeting.

REPORTS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: The report from Representatives to the Board of Governors was deferred until the February Senate meeting. Senator Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees, reported on the December 9, 2010 Board of Trustees meeting. 

 There were no reports from campus faculty liaisons.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 3:31 p.m.

Minutes Written and Submitted by:
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate