MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: February 16, 2018

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Camden Campus Center, Camden Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Ahmed, Arezzi, Bagniewski, Barbarese, Bhatnagar, Bhuyan, Boikess, Borisovets, Bugel, Chang, Chayko, Chulak, Civile, Craig, Dana, D'Anna, Dane, Dasari, DiVito, Dreyer, Emmons, Fagan, Fellenz, Field, Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, Gillett, Goldfarb, Haddon, Hartman, Joergensen, A. Johnson, Junboonta, E. Kane, Keddis, Krapivin, Kustka, Langer, LaPointe, Leavy, B. Lee, Lindboe, Linz, Maloney, Mammis, Manyaga, Markert, Matto, K. Murphy, Nash, Norville, O'Brassill-Kulfan, Oleske, Oliver, O'Neill, Owens, Pappas, Parsa, M. Patel, K. Powell, Puhak, Rabinowitz, Rivera, Ross, Saltzman, Schwartz, Serrano, Settles, Shapses, Sheflin, Sinn, Spiegel, Takhistov, Tharney, Thompson, Thomson, Toney-Boss, Tracey, Tsakalakos, Van Stine, Warburton, Wilde, Winkler, Zapata, Ziessler

EXCUSED:  Battle-Brown, Barchi, Bekdash, Bora, Boruchoff, Bradley, Bridgeman, Burley, Cummings, DeFilippis, Denham-Barrett,  Esposito, Filippelli, Fox, Gould, Graber, Gross, Honeycutt, Joseph, C. Kane, Kelly, Kettle, Langsam, C. Lee, LoGrippo, Lulla, Lutz, Mazurek, McKeever, Miller, Nitzsche, Padgett, Pandey, Pantazis, Pardlo, Shivane Patel, Patrick, Patton, Phadke, Pichugin, Pintar, Resnick, Rothpletz-Puglia, Samant, Schneider, Scoloveno, Shah, Soto, Zurlo

ABSENT:   Abayhan, Alidou, Ardeshna, Artun, Balaguru, Barone, Blanchett, Brunson, Bubb, Cahill, Cantor, Chen, Coiro, Collins, Conway, Covington, Desphande, Dettloff, Dixon, Drachtman, Dutta, Eastman, Eaton, Eisenstein, Eng, Farmbry, Farris, Feldman, Fletcher, Gabriel, Ganesh, Ghate, Ghesani, Goh, Gonzalez, Goodman, Gower, Greenberg, Halkitis, Hatefi, Heckscher, Hernandez, Holzemer, Iannini, Ivanovski, R. Johnson, Kasichainula, Khattab, Kukor, Lasala, Levy, Lei, Lewis, Lindenmeyer, Lugg, Mahon, March, Marchetta, Marchick, Masiello, Minsky, Moran, B. Murphy, Novelli, Pagan, A. Patel, Suja Patel, Ponzio, C. Potter, J. Potter, H. Powell, Pradhan, Roberts, Robinson, Sanchez, Schiavo, Sen, Sheridan, Shinbrot, Siddiqui, Stauffer, Steinberg, Strom, Szatrowski, Thomas

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 110 total: 47 present (43%), 33 excused (30%), 30 absent (27%); Students: Of 48 total: 21 present (44%), 10 excused (21%), 17 absent (35%); Administrators: Of 40 total: 3 present (7.5%), 2 excused (5%), 34 absent (85.5%); Staff: Of 18 total: 10 present (56%), 4 excused (22%), 4 absent (22%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 4 present (67%), 1 excused (16%), 1 absent (16%)
View Senate Attendance Record for this academic year


Senate Chair Peter Gillett called the meeting to order at 1:14 p.m. in the Camden Campus Center Multipurpose Room, Camden Campus. He welcomed everyone to the Camden Campus and thanked Chancellor Phoebe Haddon and her staff for hosting and for providing lunch. He also gave a progress report on the Executive Secretary of the Senate search.

SECRETARY'S REPORT - Mary Mickelsen, Interim Executive Secretary


Faculty and Personnel Affairs Committee (FPAC) Response to Charge S-1707 on Stipend or Course Release Payment for PTL Senators - Joseph Markert and Alexander Settles, FPAC Co-chairs

The FPAC was charged as follows: Consider the role of part-time lecturers (PTLs) in shared governance at Rutgers, investigating policies at other Big Ten institutions as well as the unique circumstances at Rutgers University.  Make recommendations regarding adequate participation with appropriate incentives.

FPAC Co-chairs Joseph Markert and Alexander Settles presented and summarized the FPAC's Response to Charge S-1707 on Stipend or Course Release Payment for PTL Senators. There was no debate, and the resolution carried unanimously.

CAMDEN CHANCELLOR'S REPORT - Camden Chancellor Phoebe Haddon

Camden Chancellor Phoebe Haddon  presented the Camden Chancellor's Report. The presentation on that report is linked above. Haddon then responded to questions, or heard comments, on the report and related issues.

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Barbara Lee

Senior Vice President Lee presented an Administrative Report that included comments on:
Lee then responded to questions, or heard comments, on the above subjects, as well as the implementation of criminal background checks for new hires and the recent wage increase for student employees.

- Senate Vice Chair Jon Oliver reported on the February 2, 2018 meeting and activities of the Senate Executive Committee.

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, reported on the January 29 and February 7, 2018 Board of Governors meetings. Senator Robert Schwartz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees, reported that there had been no Board of Trustees meeting since the previous Senate meeting. 

CAMPUS FACULTY AND STUDENT LIAISON REPORTS: Senator Perry Dane, Camden Faculty Council Chair, reported on that group's recent plans and activities. Camden Student Senator Michael Van Stine reported on recent Camden student plans and activities. Senator Sanjib Bhuyan, New Brunswick Faculty Council Chair, reported on that group's plans and their January 26, 2018 meeting. Senator Viktor Krapivin, New Brunswick Student Member of the Senate Executive Committee, reported on New Brunswick student governing association activities.  Senator Patricia Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, RBHS Faculty Council Chair, reported on their recent plans and activities to include the launch of their new website.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 2:29 p.m.

Minutes Written and Submitted by,
Mary Mickelsen
Interim Executive Secretary of the University Senate