MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: February 22, 2013

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Paul Robeson Campus Center, Newark Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Alizadeh, Ansari, Baffo, Balog, Barcy, Barone, Barraco, Berman, Bhuyan, Boikess, Borisovets, Boustany, Buchholtz, Burrell, Cashin, Cimiotti, Coleman, Cotter, Creese, Deenamsetty, Dietrich, Dowd, Edward, Edwards, Evans, Farino, Fiore, Fishbein, Gao, Gaunt, Geerdts, Gillett, Glaser, Gomes, Goodman, Gould, Greenhut, Guo, Haibach, R. Harris, Heckscher, Holzer, Jaloudi, Jimenez, Klein, Krenos, Laguna, Lewis, Lindgren, Lynch, Markowitz, Miranti, Moran, Muse, Nieman, Norville, O'Connor, O'Malley, Otto, Ottomanelli, Panayotatos, Patel, Pirrello, Puhak, Rabinowitz, Redlawsk, Rosario, Saltzman, Sanchez, Schantz, Seethamraju, Shapiro, Sheflin, Shiffrar, Simmons, Sokolov, Sorensen, Spasojevic, Spiegel, Stein, Stillwagon, Szatrowski, Thompson, Toney-Boss, Trivedi, Tsakalakos, Tursi, Van de Walle, Vander Hoff, Velan, C. White, Winkler, Yeagle

EXCUSED: Abu El-Haj, Angell, Aubry, Bagchi, Barcy, Beachem, Bell, Cachel, Dantzler, DeLisi, DiVito, Fagley, Figueira, Hackworth, Hetling, Hinch, Hudson, Hughes, Hyndman, Janes, Kenfield, McKeever, Messer, Midlarsky, Minsky, Moran, Mullen, Naus, Navrot, Niederman, Pavlovic, Pottick, Robinson, Roth, Sahi, Scherrer, Schurman, Schwartz, Shamshair, Sikorski, Spellmeyer, Tancs, Vodak, Wagner, Wang, Wasserman, Wei, Yabut, Zimmerman 

ABSENT: Akinlabi, Alvi, Amaya-Fermandez, Atkins, Avakame, Baldwin, Bhatt, Bunch, Chant, Clear, Coghlan, Covington, Crowell, Ralk, Farmer, Farris, Fehn, K. Fernandez, L. Fernandez, Finegold, Gallo, Ganesh, Goldstein, Grabosky, J. Harris, Holzemer, Karunanithi, Katz, Khakh, Kukor, Lakkaraju, Laquidara, Li, Lindenmeyer, Maher, Mao, Marchick, Mazurek, Oboh, Oliver, Ortiz, Padgett, Pandey, Parikh, Pritchett, Reade, Rodgers, Rogers, Saito, Schement, Schiavo, Schrire, Schulman, Shafer, Solomon, Stauffer, Suplee, Taghon, Takhistov, Taylor, Thuno, Uzun, Weigert, J. White, R. Williams, W. Williams, Winterbauer

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 104 total: 46 present (44%), 31 excused (30%), 27 absent (26%); Students: Of 51 total: 22 present (43%), 8 excused (16%), 21 absent (41%); Administrators: Of 35 total: 12 present (34%), 6 excused (17%), 17 absent (49%); Staff: Of 13 total: 9 present (70%), 2 excused (15%), 2 absent (15%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 4 present (67%), 2 excused (33%)
View Senate Attendance Record for this year

Paul Panayotatos, Chairperson


Chairperson Panayotatos called the meeting to order at 1:25 p.m. He mentioned the strategic planning discussion held at the previous Senate meeting, as well as the strategic planning forum held at this month's Executive Committee meeting. He said that the strategic planning process continues, including completed formation of a faculty committee on the strategic plan, and that the committee is expected to meet before March 6.

SECRETARY'S REPORT - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary
SPECIAL ELECTION TO REPLACE CAMDEN FACULTY MEMBER OF THE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - A special election was held to replace Senator Daniel Bubb, formerly Camden faculty member of the Executive Committee, who had left the Senate. Senator Yuchung Wang (Graduate School - Camden, Faculty) was placed in the position by acclamation.


Instruction, Curricula and Advising Committee (ICAC) Report and Recommendations on Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) [Link goes to report as amended and adopted at this meeting.] - Natalie Borisovets, ICAC Chair
ICAC Chair Natalie Borisovets summarized her committee's report and recommendations on Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). The report was produced on ICAC initiative, and therefore did not refer to a charge issued by the Executive Committee. A motion to amend by replacing one clause of the recommendations with "Any Rutgers course using lecture or other materials from a non-Rutgers MOOC must also include significant additional material" was accepted as friendly. The report, as amended, was then adopted by the Senate with few opposed.

Faculty and Personnel Affairs Committee (FPAC) Report and Recommendations on Charge A-0812B on Evaluation of Administrators, Part II: Evaluation of Upper Administrators [Link goes to report as amended and adopted at this meeting.]- Ann Gould and Paul Panayotatos, FPAC Co-chairs
FPAC Co-chair Ann Gould summarized her committee's report and recommendations on Charge A-0812B on Evaluation of Administrators, Part II, Evaluation of Upper Administrators. She said that the report and remaining portion of this charge were now limited to evaluation of the president, and that the remainder of the charge would be withdrawn now because of the evolving relationship structure of the upper administration relating to integration of UMDNJ units and other legislated changes. Several amendments were moved, and were either accepted as friendly, or seconded and adopted on card vote. The report, as amended, was then adopted by the Senate with few opposed.

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - President Robert L. Barchi

President Barchi presented an administrative report which included comments on the following topics:
President Barchi then responded to questions, or heard comments on subjects including:
NEWARK CAMPUS REPORT - Interim Newark Chancellor Philip Yeagle

Interim Newark Chancellor Philip Yeagle presented the Newark Campus Report, the full text of which is online here.

OLD BUSINESS: There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, reported that the Board of Governors had not met since the previous Senate meeting. Senator Martha Cotter, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees meeting, reported that there had been no Board of Trustees meetings since the previous Senate meeting.

CAMPUS FACULTY LIAISON REPORTS: Senator Rabinowitz, chair of the Camden Faculty Council, reported on recent activities of that group, including discussion of a common campus general education curriculum.

The meeting adjourned at 3:13 p.m.

Minutes written and submitted by:
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate