MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: February 27, 2009

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room East 232, Paul Robeson Campus Center, Newark Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Abercrombie, Allender, Beachem, Bhuyan, Blumenthal, Boikess, Borisovets, Boylan, S. Brooks, Brown, Bumby, Burrell, Caprio, Carr, Cooke, Cooper, Cotter, DeLisi, DeMoya, Deutsch, Diner, Dutta, Edwards, Figueira, Fishbein, Furmanski, Gale, Gao, Gaunt, Gillett, Gomes, Gould, Grant, Greenhut, Guo, Gursoy, S. Hall, Heckscher, Hicks, Hyndman, Kaplan, Katz, Kelly, Kemeny, Leath, Levine, Levinson, Lynch, Mariscal, Markert, McArdle, McCormick, Meyer, Miller, Minucci, Muse, Niederman, Norville, Nycz, Oliver, Panayotatos, Pavlik, Perrone, Picarelli, Pignatiello, Prekopa, Rabinowitz, Rhee, Roth, Schaffner, Schantz, Schnetzer, Schramke, Sharp, Sheflin, Spiegel, Sukul, Sullivan, Szatrowski, Thakuri, F. Thompson, K. Thompson, Tittler, Toney-Boss, Tumer, Vitello, Weigand, Wild, Yeagle

EXCUSED: Alger, Appiah-Kumi, Barone, Barrett, Benovitz, Bodnar, Buckley, Ciklamini, Cohick, Covey, Cowen, Creese, Ellis, Gimenez, Gonzalez-Palmer, Robert Goodman, Roe Goodman, Greaux, M. Hall, Hanebrink, Holcomb, Hughes, Janes, Kerkhof, Kind, Kowler, Kukor, Leonard, Lintakoon, Lomiguen, Markowitz, McKeever, Minsky, Molloy, Nolfi, Palis, Papathomas, Pottick, Rockland, Rudrapatna, P. Simmons, G. Stein, Stevens, Stewart, Stone, Tomassone, Traxler, Vodak, Walters, West, Winterbauer, Wyhopen, Yakal-Kremski, Yares

ABSENT: Adam, Agarwal, Anand, Blimling, E. Brooks, Bubb, Chann, Cruzan, Davidson, Diamond, Finegold, Glickman, Gliserman, Goldman, Graycar, Greenberg, Habib, Hey, Holzer, Husein, Hussein, Jaluria, Joel, Kalelkar, Kanj, Kerrigan, Kociol, Koza, Lehne, Lemieux, Li, Loh, LoSasso, Ludescher, Malik, Marsh, Matsuda, Messer, Mittra, Pedersen, Pinchuk, Ramasamy, Rankin, Rocafort, Rodgers, Rudman, Schement, Schurman, R. Simmons, Simon, Solomon, Stauffer, J. Stein, Wagner, H. Wang, Y. Wang, Weinstock-Gallagher, Weber, White, Williams, Yannakogeorgos, Zullo

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 96 total: 49 present (51%), 26 excused (27%), 21 absent (22%); Students: Of 57 total: 21 present (37%), 12 excused (21%), 24 absent (42%); Administrators: Of 36 total: 10 present (28%), 9 excused (25%), 17 absent (47%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 2 present (33%), 4 excused (67%), 0 absent; Staff: Of 10 total: 7 present (70%), 3 excused (30%), 0 absent 

View Senate Attendance Record for this year

PRESIDING OFFICER:Samuel Rabinowitz, Chairperson


Chairperson Rabinowitz called the meeting to order at 1:18 p.m. He thanked Newark Chancellor Diner for the hospitality, and President McCormick and Executive Vice President Furmanski for lunch. Rabinowitz referred the Senate to a recent email from Vice President for Undergraduate Education Barry Qualls, and asked the Senate to access and complete the related survey on services to disabled students.

SECRETARY'S REPORT - Kenneth Swalagin, Executive Secretary
ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - President Richard L. McCormick 

President McCormick presented an administrative report which included comments on the following topics:
President McCormick then responded to questions regarding:
NEWARK CAMPUS REPORT - Newark Chancellor Steven Diner

Newark Chancellor Steven Diner presented the Newark Campus Report, which included comments on:
Diner then responded to questions or comments on topics including:

University Structure and Governance Committee (USGC) Response to Charge S-0810, Including Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration as Administrator Senator - Tricia Nolfi and Jonathan Tittler, USGC Co-Chairs.
Tricia Nolfi, co-chair of the USGC, was unable to attend the meeting. USGC Co-chair Jonathan Tittler summarized his committee's report on Charge S-0810, on including the Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration (SVPFA) as an ex-officio administrator Senator. The recommendations in the report included a change to Senate Bylaws/University Regulations, so, in accordance with established parliamentary procedure, this report was introduced and discussed at this Senate meeting, but not be up for adoption until the March 27, 2009 meeting. Senator Paul Panayotatos moved to amend the recommendations to also reduce the number of administrative-appointee Senators from two to one. Senator Kevin Wild seconded the motion. The amendment was adopted on card vote. Senator Paul Leath's motion to amend the recommendations to make the SVPFA a member of the Senate's Budget and Finance Committee, as well as administrative liaison to that committee and the Senate Executive Committee, was accepted as friendly. The revised report and recommendations will be docketed for vote, and amendment of the Senate bylaws, at the March 27, 2009 meeting.

Faculty and Personnel Affairs Committee (FPAC) Response to Charge S-0705-2, Full-time Tenure- and Non-tenure-track Appointments - Ann Gould and Paul Panayotatos, FPAC Co-Chairs.
FPAC Co-chairs Paul Panayotatos and Ann Gould summarized their committee's response to Charge S-0705, part 2, on full-time tenure- and non-tenure-track appointments. No changes to current University policies or practices were recommended in this report, so this item was presented for information only, and required no vote by the Senate.

OLD BUSINESS: There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT: Vice Chairperson Paul Leath reported on the February 6, 2009 Senate Executive Committee meeting.

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Martha Cotter, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, reported on the previous day's Board of Governors meeting, which was also held in Newark. There had been no Board of Trustees meetings since the previous Senate meeting.

CAMPUS FACULTY LIAISON REPORTS: Chairperson Rabinowitz, Senator Panayotatos, and Senator Stan Hall reported on activities of the Camden Faculty Senate, the New Brunswick Faculty Council, and the Newark Faculty Council, respectively.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 3:02 p.m.

Kenneth Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate