MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: April 27, 2012

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center, New Brunswick Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Akincigil, Alizadeh, Arowolo, Bagchi, Barraco, Beachem, Berman, Bhuyan, Boikess, Borisovets, Boylan, Buch, Buchholtz, Canavan, Cashin, Chant, Cosandey, Cotter, Covington, Creese, DiVito, Endicott, Fagley, Figueira, Gao, Gillett, Goldstein, Gomes, Gould, Greenhut, Haibach, Hetling, Hock, Jerome-D'Emilia, Jimenez, Klein, Kukor, Lawton, Lindgren, Lynch, Markowitz, McCormick, McKay, McKeever, Messer, Midlarsky, Mojaddedi, Muse, Naus, Norville, O'Connor, Oliver, Otto, Ottomanelli, Panayotatos, Pandey, Patel, Paterno, Pavlovic, Puhak, Quiles, Rabinowitz, Robinson, Rosario, Roth, Saito, Sanghvi, Schorr, Shamshair, Shapiro, Sheflin, Simmons, Smith, Sokolov, Sorensen, Sowinski, Spellmeyer, Spiegel, Stein, Stillwagon, Suplee, Szatrowski, Taghon, Tancs, Thompson, Toney-Boss, Tu, Tursi, Vander Hoff, Vodak, Wagner, White, R. Wilson, Winkler, Wolf, Yabut, Yoon, Zaki, Zimmerman 

EXCUSED: Barone, Bhanot, Bodnar, Bubb, Bunch, Cachel, Contente, Dighton, Edwards, Ganesh, Gaunt, Goodman, Guo, Henriques, Hudson, Hughes, Isenburg, Janes, Kenfield, Levinson, Lewis, Mazurek, Minsky, Miranti, Mullen, Niederman, Pirrello, Potenza, Schantz, Schrire, Schwartz, Spasojevic, Winterbauer, Yeagle

ABSENT: Atkins, Avakame, Ayres, Bittner, Clarke, Clear, Cooper, DeLisi, Dietrich, Dioubate, Dugue, Farmer, Farris, Fehn, Finegold, Forero, Gabriel, Garzon, Grabosky, Grant, Greenberg, Gwira, Harris, Heckscher, Hmelo-Silver, Hoffman, Holzemer, Holzer, Honey, Hwang, Hyndman, Igberase, Katz, Kerr, Laquidara, Leibman, Li, Lindenmeyer, Loftus, McLean, Milliman, Minucci, Ortiz, Pottick, Pritchett,  Sahi, Schement, Schurman, Shafer, K. Shah, N. Shah, Sills, Small-Post, Solomon, Stauffer, Trammell, Van de Walle, Violette, Wang, Wewer, I. Wilson

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 96 total: 60 present (62%), 18 excused (19%), 18 absent (19%); Students: Of 45 total: 20 present (44%), 3 excused (7%), 22 absent (49%); Administrators: Of 35 total: 6 present (18%), 9 excused (26%), 19 absent (56%); Staff: Of 13 total: 8 present (62%), 3 excused (23%), 2 absent (15%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 5 present (83%), 1 excused (17%), 0 absent 

View Senate Attendance Record for this year

PRESIDING OFFICER: Paul Panayotatos, Chairperson

CALL TO ORDER and CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT - Paul Panayotatos, Chairperson

Chairperson Panayotatos called the meeting to order at 2:47 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the Rutgers Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. He thanked all Senators for their service, particularly those who would not be returning next year. He encouraged those non-continuing Senators to run for Senate positions again in the future, and to also consider running for office. Panayotatos offered his personal thanks to Senator and University President Richard McCormick for his long-sustained and gratifying involvement in the Senate.

SECRETARY'S REPORT - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary
ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - President Richard L. McCormick

President McCormick presented an administrative report, which included comments on topics including:
President McCormick then responded to questions, or heard comments, on a variety of subjects..

NEW BUSINESS: Senator and Senate Vice Chair Ann Gould moved a Resolution in Appreciation for President McCormick's work with the Senate. Senator and Senate Parliamentarian Victor Greenhut seconded Gould's motion, and moved for acclamation. The resolution was adopted by acclamation as follows:

Whereas, Dr. Richard L. McCormick, while President of Rutgers University, has supported shared governance and has shown consistent and sustained involvement in the activities of the University Senate; and,
Whereas, during his tenure he promoted the frank and collegial exchange of information between the Senate and the University administration; and,
Whereas, during his time as President, Dr. McCormick was instrumental in the implementation of the vast majority of the over one hundred recommendations forwarded to him by the Senate; and,
Whereas, during that time the Senate acted on issues of significant importance to Rutgers, and benefited from the cooperation and respect of the President and administration; and,
Whereas, Dr. McCormick is returning to the faculty on July 1st, 2012;
Therefore, Be It Resolved, that the Rutgers University Senate expresses its gratitude and appreciation for the cooperation and attention given it by Dr. Richard L. McCormick during his tenure as the 19th President of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.


The following committee reports were presented to, and adopted by, the Senate:
[Note: Links refer to the reports as adopted by the Senate at this meeting. The report on Academic Freedom and Faculty Participation in University Governance was amended prior to adoption.]

ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTION RESULTS: At 4:15 p.m., Secretary Swalagin announced the 2012-13 Senate Leadership and Board Representatives election results.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 4:16 p.m.

Minutes Written and Submitted by,
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate