Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATESeptember 15, 2006

1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center,126 College Avenue,College Avenue Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Adelman, Alger, Allender, Ambar, Atmeh, Balwani, Barone, Bhuyan, Blimling, Bodnar, Boikess, Borisovets, Bosch, Bosotov, Boylan, Bravo, Bubb, Bynes, Caprio, Carey, Cohick, Coit, Colaizzi, Cole, Cooke, Copeland, Coppolo, Cotter, Cowen, Curtis, DeLisi, DeLuca, E. Dennis, R. Dennis, Deutsch, Dienst, Dutta, Edwards, Finegold, Fowler, Friedrich, Furmanski, Galili, Gaunt, Gigliotti, Gillett, Gonzalez-Palmer, Goodman, Gould, Grant, Greenhut, Hall, Harris, Heckscher, Hughes, Hyman, Hyndman, Jackson, Johnson, Jozefczyk, Kalelkar, Kern, Kirschner, Koza, Krenos, Languna-Diaz, Larmony, Leath, Lehne, Lipman, Marchetta, Markert, Markowitz, Marsh, Mauroff, McCabe, McCormick, McCoy-Carter, McKeever, J. Meyer, W. Meyer, Miller, Mulcahy, Nayyar, Ng, Niederman, Nolfi, Norville, Obayashi, Ozbay, Palmon, Patel, Pittman, Puniello, Quinn, Samuel Rabinowitz, Sidney Rabinowitz, Rankin, Rivera, Robinson, Rockland, Sanders, Schaich, Schantz, Schorr, Scott, Shah, R. Simmons, Solomon, Sonariwo, Soyosa, Spiegel, Spotacco, St. John, Staples, Stauffer, Stein, Taulane, Tevis, Thompson, Tittler, Toney-Boss, Traxler, Venus, Vera, Vodak, Whitfield, Winterbauer, Wyhopen

EXCUSED:  Bernstein, Covey, Diner, Dixon-McInerney, Eldreth, Gunderson, Guo, Kennedy, Klein, Lippert, Maher, McKay, Oppenheim, Oren, Panayotatos, Reiss, Rennie, Rollino, Schein, Schwab, Van Til, Wagner, Wallace, Williams, Wright

ABSENT:  Alley, Amirahmadi, Apfel, Barbarese, Bay, Bellany, Busia, Carbone, Chabal, Creese, Duncan, Gimenez, Habib, Hart, Kirby, Kokini, Lashley, Levitsky, Livingston, Murthy, Ocone, Pedersen, Schock, P. Simmons, Simon, Sofer, Sukhdeo, Szatrowski, Urbaniak, Venzie, Wang

ATTENDANCE SUMMARYFaculty: Of 86 total:  53 present (62%),  12 excused (14%), 21 absent (24%) ; Students: Of 49 total: 35 present (72%), 7 excused (14%), 7 absent (14%) ; Administrators:  Of 34 total:  26 present (76%), 5 excused (15%), 3 absent (9%); Alumni:  Of 6 total:  6 present (100%), 0 excused, 0 absent; Staff: Of 10 total:  9 present (90%, 1 excused (10%), 0 absent
View Senate attendance record for this year

PRESIDING OFFICERMartha Cotter, Chairperson

CHAIRPERSON’S REPORT:  Chairperson Cotter introduced herself, and welcomed Senators, special guests, and all Rutgers-community attendees.  She noted that this was an unusual Senate meeting in that the majority of the agenda would be dedicated to President McCormick's Annual Address to the University Community. She noted that it was a "historic day" for the Senate, in that it was the first Senate meeting to include staff Senators.

Cotter introduced: all staff Senators, the Senate staff and officers, and (later) Jillian Curtis, who is Senate Parliamentarian.

Chairperson Cotter then outlined the procedure for the question-and-answer period which was to follow President McCormick’s Annual Address to the Community.  The procedure allowed anyone present to pose a question, with no preference given to Senators, but questions were limited to one per person, and to one minute or less, with no follow-up.

PRESIDENT’S ANNUAL ADDRESS TO THE UNIVERSITY COMMUNITY:  Chairperson Cotter introduced President McCormick, who took the lectern.  President McCormick then presented his Annual Address to the University Community, the text of which has been posted online at

A question-and-answer period followed, during which President McCormick responded to questions on a wide range of issues from Senators and other members of the Rutgers community..

ADJOURNMENT:  There being no further business before the University Senate, Chairperson  adjourned the meeting at 3:24 p.m.

Kenneth Swalagin
Secretary of the University Senate