MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: September 18, 2015

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, College Avenue Student Center, New Brunswick Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Abacan, Aioub, Alder, Alizadeh, Anaele, Anderson, Anthony, Ardeshna, Asker, Avadhani, Barchi, Barone, Benford, Boikess, Borden, Borisovets, Boruchoff, Bridgeman, Bugel, Calabrese, Charles, Chau, Chayko, Cotter, Covello, Dasari, Davis, A. Desai, R. Desai, DiVito, Dixon, Drachtman, Dreyer, D'Souza, Edward, Eisenstein, Esposito, Faenza, Fagley, Fennell, Fletcher, Gajic, Gillett, Goh, Gonzalez, Gould, Gower, Gramieri, Grant, Greenblatt, K. Gursoy, M. Gursoy, Hayton, Heckscher, D. Hughes, Huselid, Israel, Jamknanawala, Joergensen, Kantor, Kelshikar, Killingsworth, Kirna, Kolbaba, Kustka, Langer, B. Lee, K. Lee, Lu, Mahtabfar, Maloney, Marcone, Markert, Martinez-San Miguel, McGinnis, McKeever, Meck, Messer, Miranti, Mouradian, Murphy, Nissen, Norville, O'Connell, Oleske, Oliver, Otto, Palmer, Pandey, Parisi, Pereira, Pintar, Pirrello, Pitt, Ponzio, Portillo, C. Potter, Prestigiacomo, Puhak, Pusukur, Rabinowitz, Rajesh, Roth, Ryan, Samant, Santana, Scheck, Schulberg, Scoloveno, C. Scott, K. Scott, Settles, Shapley, J. Shapiro, Sharp, Shinbrot, Singh, Spiegel, Stein, Struwe, Sung, Szatrowski, Takacs, Tamburello, Theiss, Thomas, Thomson, Thompson, Toney-Boss, Torres, Toth, Wagner, Wakim, Wang, Wasserman, White, Williams, Winkler, Wise, Zurlo

EXCUSED:  Ahmed, Balog, Barbarese, Barraco, Bhuyan, Butler, Chandler, Coiro, Delnevo, Durham, Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, Gold, Janniger, Joo, Kalan, Kressel, Lado, Jan Lewis, Jane Lewis, Maruna, Meyer, Oberdiek, Patel, Saltzman, Schwartz, Shaban, Szabo, Trehan, Winterbauer

ABSENT:  Ahluwalia, Avakame, Blanchett, Burley, Cantor, Capone, Chen, Cooper, Covington, Cruz, Deans, Eastman, Edwards, Farmbry, Farris, Fehn, Feldman, Gabriel, Ganesh, Goodman, Grave, Haddon, Holzemer, Holzer, Hoontis, J. Hughes, Johnson, Kukor, LaBella, Lei, Lindenmeyer, Lynch, Mahon, March, Mazurek, Mhaske, Miller, Moran, Morrell, Ramsamy, Robinson, Salmond, Schiavo, M. Shapiro, Stauffer, Stillwagon, Strom, Van de Walle

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 106 total: 80 present (75%), 15 excused (14%), 11 absent (10%); Students: Of 45 total: 34 present (76%), 6 excused (13%), 5 absent (11%);    Administrators: Of 43 total: 8 present (19%), 4 excused (9%), 35 absent (72%); Staff: Of 18 total: 11 present (61%), 3 excused (17%), 4 absent (22%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 4 present (67%), 2 excused (33%), 0 absent (0%)
View Senate Attendance Record for this year


Senate Chairperson Ann Gould called the meeting to order at 1:20 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the College Avenue Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. She welcomed all present. She announced that, although signs were posted indicating that the parking lot behind the student center would close at 2:00, nobody would be towed or ticketed. Gould then introduced Senate Parliamentarian Peter Gillett, and Senate Executive Secretary Ken Swalagin. 

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - Robert L. Barchi, University President

Gould summarized the format and time limits for President Barchi's administrative report. University President Robert Barchi presented an administrative report, summarizing a full-text version which has been posted online here. President Barchi then responded to questions, or heard comments, on subjects that included:
INTRODUCTION OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND THEIR CHAIRS - Chairperson Gould introduced the standing committee chairs, who then spoke briefly about their committees' activities and plans.

UPDATE ON SCHOLARLY OPEN ACCESS AT RUTGERS (SOAR) IMPLEMENTATION and Open Access Policy [See October 2012 Senate Report on Charge S-1107, Publication Repository. Policy effective September 1, 2015.] – Jane Otto (former chair of the Senate's Research, and Graduate and Professional Education Committee) and Laura Mullen, University Libraries

Jane Otto (former chair of the Senate's Research, and Graduate and Professional Education Committee) and Laura Mullen, both of University Libraries, presented an update on Scholarly Open Access at Rutgers (SOAR), and the related Rutgers policy which became effective on September 1, 2015. Their PowerPoint presentation is online here. Mullen and Otto then responded to questions from the Senate.

There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT - Senate Vice Chair Peter Gillett reported on the June 5, 2015 and September 4, 2015 [links go to meeting minutes] Senate Executive Committee meetings.

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, and Alexandra Williams, Student Representative to the Board of Governors, reported on the July 16 and September 11, 2015 Board of Governors meetings. Senators Menahem Spiegel and Asha Samant, Faculty Representatives to the Board of Trustees, and Diana Gonzalez, Graduate Student Representative to the Board of Trustees, reported on the September 9, 2015 Board of Trustees meeting. Ken Swalagin read a report from Newark Student Member of the Senate Executive Committee Edmund Janniger (who was in Poland at the time) on recent plans and activities of Newark student governing associations.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 3:49 p.m.

Minutes written and submitted by:
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate