MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: September 19, 2014

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center, New Brunswick Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Ahmed,  Akhtar, Alder, Anderson, Avadhani, Barchi,  Bell, Bernstein, Bodrog, Boikess, Borden, Borisovets, Bridgeman, Buchholtz, Burrell, Caler, Chen, Cooper, Cotter, Covington, Dasari, Delnevo, Dreyer, Durham, Dy,  Edward, Edwards, Elkabes, Fagley, Farris, Feldman, Fennell, Ferraris, Fiore, Fitzgerlad-Bocarsly, Gajic,  Gaunt, Geis, Gillett, Glaser, Gomes, Gould, Gower, Grant, Gupta, Gursoy, Hackworth, Haddon, Hamai, Hirsch, Holtzman, Hudson, D. Hughes, Ibrahimpata, Jimenez, D. Johnson, Joshi, Karamichael, Killingsworth, A. Kim, S. Kim, Krishnamurthi, Langer, A. Lee, K. Lee, Lepucki, Jane Lewis, Maillet, Marchick, Markert, Mazurek, McGinnis, McInerney, McKeever, Meggali, Messer, Miller,  Mitra, Mitchell, Moran, Mouradian, Munoz, Navrot, Norville, Oberdiek, O'Connell, O'Connor, Oleske, Oliver, Otto, Parry, V. Patel, Pintar, Pirrello, Powell, Puhak, Rabinowitz, Ramsamy, Redlawsk, Roth, Sambol, Schulberg, Schurman, Schwartz, Scott, Shapiro, Shapley, Shulman, Spiegel,  Stillwagon, Struwe, Sumoked, Sun, Suplee, Svasti, Szabo, Szatrowksi, Tamburello, Thomas-Hawkins, Thompson, Tiangco, Toney-Boss, Tsakalakos, Tursi, Van Stine, Velan, Wagner, Wang, Winkler, Winterbauer, Wise, Yousaf, Zimmerman

EXCUSED: Abu El-Haj, Alizadeh, Barone, Barraco, Bolden, Deans, Draves, Grave, LoMonoco, March, Padgett, Robinson, Wasserman, 

ABSENT: Allen, Alperin, Angell, Anthony, Aubry, Avakame, Balog, Barbarese, Battle, Bhuyan, Blanchett, Bugel, Cantor, Creese, DiVito, Donald, Eastman, Frambry, Hehn, Fernandez, Ganesh, Goodman, Gracias, Heckscher, Hinch,  Holzemer, Holzer, J. Hughes, Iwamiya, R. Johnson, Kocak, Kressel, Kubic, Kukor, Kumar, Leibman, Jan Lewis, Lindenmeyer, Lynch, Maher, Martinez, Maruna, Millonig, Miranti, Moore, Nissen, N. Patel, Potter, Rhoads, Rogers, Sahi, Salmond, Saltzman, Schiavo, Scotto, Shafer, Simmons, Stauffer, Stein, Strom, Takacs, Triner, Van de, Walle, Velez, Vodak, Weigert, 

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty:  Faculty: Of 100 total: 64 present (64%), 7 excused (7%), 31 absent (31%); Students: Of 45 total: 36 present (80%), 1 excused (2%), 8 absent (18%); Administrators: Of 42 total: 15 present (36%), 3 excused (7%), 24 absent (57%); Staff: Of 17 total: 11 present (65%), 1 excused (6%), 6 absent (35%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 5 present (83%), 1 excused (17%), 0 absent (0%)


Senate Chairperson Ann Gould called the meeting to order at 1:16 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the Rutgers Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. She welcomed all present. Gould then introduced Senate Parliamentarian Peter Gillett, and Senate Executive Secretary Ken Swalagin. She updated the Senate on actions taken by the Executive Committee over the summer, including making recommendations on procedures for selecting commencement speakers and honorary degree recipients, which was done by the Executive Committee on behalf of the Senate because of an extremely compressed timeline established by the administration. She said that some of the recommendations were accepted informally by President Barchi, but others were not, and that Newark and Camden are working with their own committees, on which Senate Executive Committee members from those campuses serve.

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - Robert L. Barchi, University President

University President Robert Barchi first commented on the Senate's recommendations on selection of honorary degree recipients and commencement speakers, and related processes within the administration and Board of Governors. He then presented an administrative report, summarizing a full-text version which has been posted online here. President Barchi then responded to questions, or heard comments, on subjects that included:
ELECTION OF CAMDEN STUDENT MEMBER OF THE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - Because no eligible candidates for Camden  student member of the Senate Executive Committee were nominated during the May 2014 election, an election to fill that position was conducted at this meeting. Senate Secretary Ken Swalagin conducted the election. Nambaramey Dy, a student at the School of Business - Camden, had previously nominated himself for the position. There were no nominees from the floor. Senator Dy being the only nominee, he was declared Camden student member of the Senate Executive Committee by acclamation.

INTRODUCTION OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND THEIR CHAIRS - Chairperson Gould introduced the standing committee chairs, who then spoke briefly about their committees' activities and plans.

OLD BUSINESS: There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, reported on the June and July 2014 Board of Governors meetings. Senators Menahem Spiegel and Robert Schwartz, Faculty Representatives to the Board of Trustees, reported on the September 2014 Board of Trustees meeting.

CAMPUS FACULTY LIAISON REPORTS: Camden Faculty Council Chair Samuel Rabinowitz reported on that group's current activities and plans. New Brunswick Faculty Council Chair Martha Cotter reported that her council will meet on October 17. RBHS Faculty Council Chair Patricia Bocarsley-Fitzgerald reported on her group's plans and activities, including electing permanent leadership this fall.

CAMPUS STUDENT LIAISON REPORTS: Senator Vetri Velan reported on New Brunswick student leadership activities. Senator Hamzah Raza reported on Newark student leadership activities.

CHAIR'S CLOSING COMMENTS: Chairperson Gould thanked the Senators for their time commitments. 

The meeting adjourned at 3:42 p.m.

Minutes written and submitted by:
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate