MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: September 23, 2016

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, College Avenue Student Center, New Brunswick Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Alizadeh, Anaele, Arezzi, Artun, Balmer, Barbarese, Barchi, Bekdash, Bhuyan, Boikess, Borisovets, Boruchoff, Bradshaw, Bridgeman, Burley, Carrasco, Chandler, Chang, Chatham, Chayko, Collado-Garrido, Collins, Cotter, Craig, Cutler, Dana, Dane, Dasari, Davis, Desai, DiVito, Dreyer, Edward, Edwards, Eisenstein, Esposito, Fagley, Field, Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, Flores, Fox, Gillett, Goswami, Gould, Gower, Grant, K. Gursoy, M. Gursoy, Heckscher, D. Hughes, Huselid, Iannini, Jackson, Jaffry, Janniger, A. Johnson, Joo, Joseph, Junboonta, Kaptan, Kelly, Kelshikar, Kouraeva, Krapivin, Kustka, Krutyansky, LaPointe, B. Lee, Leibman, Jane Lewis, Levy, Linz, Lutz, Maloney, Marchetta, Markert, Miranti, Moran, Norville, O'Connell, Okada, Oleske, Oliver, O'Neill, Otto, Pagan, Pappas, Parmar, A. Patel, D. Patel, Pintar, Pirrello, Powell, Puhak, Rabinowitz, Rivera, Rothpletz-Puglia, Salazaar, Saltzman, Samant, Santana, Schwartz, Scoloveno, C. Scott, K. Scott, Serrano, Settimo, Settles, Shapses, Shapiro, Sharp, Sheflin, Shinn, Soto, Spiegel, Stepleton, Sulley, Szatrowski, Taillefer, Thomas, Thomson, Thompson, Thornton, Toney-Boss, Torres, Upadhyay, Van Stine, Wakim, Wang, Winkler, Zurlo

EXCUSED:  Bugel, Butterfield, Calabrese, Y. Chen, Conway, Delnevo, Diaz, Dimatulac,  Durham, Fletcher, Goh, Gross, Hayton, Joergensen, Kalan, Killingsworth, Langer,  Marchick, Marcone, Mazurek, McKeever, Meck, Morrell, Nissen, Paneque, K. Patel, Ponzio, Roth, Schneider, Sheehan, Takacs, Wagner

ABSENT:   Ardeshna, Balaguru, Barone, Benford, Blanchett, Bubb, Cahill, Cantor, Charles, R. Chen, Coiro, Cooper, Covington, Dixon, Drachtman, Eastman, Farmbry, Farris, Feldman, Gabriel, Ganesh, Goodman, Haddon, Hart, Holzemer, Holzer, J. Hughes, R. Johnson, Kukor, Kuzma, Lattime, K. Lee, Lei, Jan Lewis, Lindenmeyer, Mahon, March, Martinez, Meyer, Mouradian, Nehring, Pandey, C. Potter, J. Potter, Robinson, Romanchuk, Rozenberg, Salmond, Schaden, Schiavo, Scotto, Sharma, Shinbrot, Singh, Stauffer, Strom, Wasserman

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 108 total: 72 present (67%), 18 excused (17%), 18 absent (17%); Students: Of 50 total: 34 present (68%), 7 excused (14%), 9 absent (18%); Administrators: Of 39 total: 5 present (13%), 3 excused (8%), 34 absent (79%); Staff: Of 18 total: 15 present (83%), 3 excused (17%), 0 absent (0%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 5 present (83%), 1 excused (17%), 0 absent (0%)
View Senate Attendance Record for this academic year


Senate Chair Peter Gillett called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the College Avenue Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. He welcomed all present, and thanked all Senators for their service to shared governance at Rutgers. He introduced himself, Senate Parliamentarian Jon Oliver, Senate Executive Secretary Ken Swalagin, and Senate Administrative Assistant Mary Mickelsen. He then summarized recent Senate activities, and asked for additional responses to a recent call for volunteers to participate in the Senate's University Commencement Panel process. He also spoke about a pending proposal to create a School of Graduate Studies in New Brunswick, his plan to propose adding a parliamentary summary to the Senate Handbook, and his participation in an upcoming Big Ten Academic Leadership Conference.

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - Robert L. Barchi, University President

Gillett summarized the format and time limits for President Barchi's administrative report. University President Robert Barchi presented an administrative report, summarizing a full-text version which has been posted online here. Gillett then expounded on the format and process for the question-and-answer period. President Barchi then responded to questions, or heard comments, on subjects included in his report, as well as:
ELECTION OF NEWARK STUDENT MEMBER OF THE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - Because no eligible candidates for Newark student member of the Senate Executive Committee were nominated during the April 2016 election, an election to fill that position was conducted at this meeting. Swalagin conducted the election. Edmund Janniger, a student at the School of Public Affairs and Administration, had previously nominated himself for the position. There were no nominees from the floor. Senator Janniger being the only nominee, he was declared Newark student member of the Senate Executive Committee by acclamation.

INTRODUCTION OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND THEIR CHAIRS - Gillett introduced the standing committee chairs, who then spoke briefly about their committees' activities and plans.

There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT - Senate Vice Chair Robert Puhak reported on the June 3, 2016 and September 9, 2016 [links go to meeting minutes] Senate Executive Committee meetings.

REPORTS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, and Anish Patel, Student Representative to the Board of Governors, reported on the June 15 and July 20 Board of Governors meetings. Senators Menahem Spiegel and Asha Samant, Faculty Representatives to the Board of Trustees, and Akeen Anaele, Undergraduate Student Representative to the Board of Trustees, reported on the June 15 and September 9, 2016 Board of Trustees meetings.

REPORTS OF CAMPUS FACULTY AND STUDENT LIAISONS: Faculty Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, a member of the Camden Faculty Council, reported on that group's recent plans and activities. Camden Student Senators Michael Van Stine and Christopher Shinn reported on recent plans and activities of Camden student governing associations. Newark Student Senator Edmund Janniger reported on recent plans and activities of Newark student governing associations. Faculty Senator Martha Cotter, a member of the New Brunswick Faculty Council, reported on that group's recent plans and activities. New Brunswick Student Senator Viktor Krapivin reported on recent plans and activities of New Brunswick student governing associations. Faculty Senator Patricia Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, RBHS Faculty Council Chair, reported that the RBHS Faculty Council had not yet met this academic year.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 3:33 p.m.

Minutes written and submitted by:
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate