MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: September 24, 2010

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center, 126 College Avenue, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick

MEMBERS PRESENT: Abercrombie, Akincigil, Amirahmadi, Atkins, Barone, Barraco, Beachem, Bhuyan, Binetti, Bittner, Bodnar, Boikess, Borisovets, Breslaw, Bubb, Buch, Cachel, Caprio, Clarke, B. Cooper, Cotter, Czaplicki, David, DiVito, Dougherty, Dutta, Edwards, Ellis, Farmer, Farris, Fehn, Figueira, Finegold, Foglio, Furmanski, Gabriel, Ganesh, Garcia, Gaunt, Gillett, Gomes, Goodman, Gould, Grant, Greenberg, Greenhut, Gunkel, Gurfinkiel, Gursoy, Heckscher, Helgeson, Herbert, Holzemer, Hudson, Hughes, Iraninejad, Janes, Jerome-DeMilia, Jimenez, Kalelkar, Katz, Kheiralla, Kolasis, Le, Leath, Lerner, Levine, Levinson, Lewis, Loftus, Lynch, Maher, Markert, Markowitz, Mazurek, McCormick, McKay, McKeever, McLean, Messer, M. Miller, Milliman, Minsky, Mojaddedi, Molloy, Muse, Narayan, Nayyar, Niederman, Nycz, O'Connor, Oza, Panayotatos, Pero, Perrone, Pirrello, Potenza, Prowse, Puhak, Rabinowitz, H. Roth, Sabo, Sahi, Samarakone, Schantz, Schnetzer, Schrire, Shapiro, Sheflin, Simmons, J. Singh, Sandeep Singh, Saurabh Singh, Smith, Solomon, Spath, Spellmeyer, Spiegel, Stauffer, Stillwagon, Swartley-McArdle, Szatrowski, Szczesna, Tancs, K. Thompson, Toney-Boss, Tu, Vargas, Vodak, Wagner, Wang, White, Wilson, Winkler, Winterbauer, Won, Woolcott, Wu, Wyhopen. Yeagle, Yu, Zaki, Zimmerman

EXCUSED: Barnett, Boylan, Carr, Cosandey, Creese, DeLisi, Dighton, Fishbein, Hill, Hmelo-Silver, Hyndman, Li, Norville, Scher, Schorr, Spasojevic, Stein, F. Thompson, Violette

ABSENT: Bhanot, Blumenthal, Bruno, Clear, M. Cooper, Diner, Fensterheim, Gao, Goldman, Guo, Hall, Hanebrink, Hicks, Hoffman, Holzer, Kukor, Lawton, LoBalbo, Mann, Marsh, J. Miller, Pritchett, G. Roth, Schement, Tansey, Weinstein, Yoon

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 90 total: 68 present (76%), 11 excused (12%), 11 absent (12%); Students: Of 45 total: 34 present (75%), 3 excused (7%), 8 absent (18%); Administrators: Of 35 total: 24 present (69%), 1 excused (3%), 10 absent (28%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 5 present (83%), 1 excused (17%), 0 absent; Staff: Of 13 total: 12 present (92%), 1 excused (8%), 0 absent 

View Senate Attendance Record for this year

PRESIDING OFFICER: Paul Panayotatos, Chairperson

CHAIRPERSON’S REPORT: Chairperson Panayotatos called the meeting to order at 1:13 p.m. He welcomed everyone to the Senate meeting, and summarized some Senate history, as well as past accomplishments and planned activities. He introduced Senate standing-committee chairs, calling upon each to rise and make brief statements about their committee plans for the coming academic year. The planned text of Chairperson Panayotatos's report and comments can be found here.

PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS QUESTION-AND-ANSWER PERIOD PROCEDURES: Chairperson Panayotatos's report outlined the procedure for the question-and-answer period which was to follow President McCormick’s Annual Address to the Community. The procedure, intended to enable as many community members as possible to participate in the process, allowed anyone present to pose a question, with no preference given to Senators, but questions were limited to one per person, and to one minute or less, with no follow-up.
PRESIDENT’S ANNUAL ADDRESS TO THE UNIVERSITY COMMUNITY: Chairperson Panayotatos introduced President McCormick, who took the lectern. President McCormick then presented his Annual Address to the University Community, the theme of which was “Our Rutgers, Our Future.” The text of the address has been posted online at
A question-and-answer period followed, during which President McCormick responded to questions from Senators and other members of the Rutgers community on a wide range of issues.
ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business before the University Senate, Chairperson Panayotatos adjourned the meeting at 3:25 p.m.
Kenneth Swalagin
Secretary of the University Senate