MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: September 27, 2013

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center, New Brunswick Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Ahmed, Alder, Anderson, Apuzzio, Aubry, Avadhani, Avakame, Baffo, Barbarese, Barone (F), Beachem, Benjamin, Berman, Bhatt, Boikess, Borisovets, Buchholtz, Bugel,  Burrell, Cashin, Cimiotti, Clarke, Coleman, Connors, Copeland, Cotter, Covington, Creese, Daniels, D’Anna, Dasari, Davidov, Davis, DeCastro, Desai, DiBona, DiVito, Edwards, Eklabes, Fagley, Falk, Farris, Fehn, Feldman, Fennell, Fiore, Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, Gajic, Gallo, Gaunt, Geis, Glaser, Goldstein, Gomes, Gould, Haibach, Heckscher, Heider, Hudson, Hughes, Hyndman, Jimenez, Karamichael, Kietrys, Kressel, Krymchanskaya,  Kumar, Lee, Lin, Lindgren, A. Liu, T. Liu, Maher, Maillet, Mapes, Mao, Markert, Markowitz, Mazurek, McKeever, Middleton, Midlarsky, Miller, Millonig, Mistry, Mitchell, Moomjy, Navrot, Niederman, Nieman, O’Connell, O’Connor, Oliver, Otto, Ottomanelli, Patel, Pintar, Pirrello, Puhak, Rabinowitz, Redlawsk, Rivera-Medina, Robinson, Rogers, Rothpletz-Puglia, Saito, Saltzman, Samant, Schantz, Scherrer, R. Schwartz, Scotto, Shapiro, Shapley, Sheflin, Shivakumar, Simmons, Spiegel, Stein, Struwe, Suplee, Tesoro, Teters, Thompson, Tiedeken, Tsakalakos, Uzun, Vaz, Wagner, Wang, Weigert, Winkler, Winterbauer, Wise, Wurster

EXCUSED: Abu El-Haj, Allen,  Amaya-Fernandez, Ameri, Angell, Bagchi, Balog, Barone (A), Barraco, Bell, Bolden, Bridgeman, Cadoff, Cohen, Edward, Farmbry, Gilman, Goodman, Hackworth, Hetling, Hinch, Holtzman, Johnson, Kenfield, Langer, Jane Lewis, Miranti, Naus, Norville, O’Malley, Padgett, Pant, Pavlovic, Reade, Rhoads, Robinson, Salmond, Sambol, Schaivo, Schwartz, Sirkin, Stillwagon, Taghon, Thuno, Toney-Boss, Vanderhoff, Vodak, Zimmerman

ABSENT: Alizadeh, Amenta, Ansari, August, Bunch, Clear, DeLisi, Delnevo, Dietrich, Dominguez, Eastman, Eldasher, Farmer, Fernandez, Ganesh, Goldstein, Grabosky, Harris, Holzemer, Holzer, Joshi, Katz, Kukor, Laguna, Lara, Jan Lewis, Lindenmeyer, LoMonaco, Lynch, Marchik, McInerney, Messer, Molloy, Nagarajan, Ortiz, Pandey, Patel, Potter, Pratt, Pritchett, Rodgers, Sahi, Schurman, Shafer, Sheth, Solomon, Spiegle, Stauffer, Szatrowksi, Triner, Tursi, Van de Walle, Wasserman, Yeagle, Yu

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty:  Faculty: Of 130 total: 79 present (61%), 31 excused (24%), 20 absent (15%); Students: Of 48 total: 32 present (67%), 2 excused (4%), 14 absent (29%); Administrators: Of 39 total:  10 present (26%), 8 excused (21%), 21 absent (54%); Staff: Of 13 total: 7 present (53%), 4 excused(31%), 2 absent (15%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 3 present (50%), 2 excused (33%), 1 absent (17%)


Senate Chairperson Ann Gould called the meeting to order at 1:16 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the Rutgers Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. She welcomed all present to the second Senate meeting of the 2013-14 University Senate, noting that the September meeting is traditionally focused on the President's Annual Address, and that President Barchi would be summarizing his address, which would be posted in its entirety online afterward. Gould then introduced Senate Parliamentarian Peter Gillett, Senate Executive Secretary Ken Swalagin, and Senate Administrative Assistant Mary Mickelsen. Gould then introduced chairs of the Senate's standing committees, who rose and summarized their committees' current work and plans. Gould completed her chairperson's report by saying she was delighted to see the large turnout at the meeting, and hoped that would continue. She again welcomed all new and continuing Senators.

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - Robert L. Barchi, University President

University President Robert Barchi presented an administrative report, summarizing a full-text version which has been posted online here. President Barchi then responded to questions, or heard comments, on subjects that included:
ELECTION OF CAMDEN STUDENT MEMBER OF THE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - Because no eligible candidates for Camden  student member of the Senate Executive Committee were nominated during the May 2013 election, an election to fill that position was conducted at this meeting. Senate Secretary Ken Swalagin conducted the election. Patrick Tiedeken, a student at the School of Business - Camden, had previously nominated himself for the position, but withdrew his self-nomination at the meeting. Joshua Benjamin, a student Senator representing the Camden College of Arts and Sciences, nominated himself from the floor. Senator Benjamin being the only nominee, he was declared Camden student member of the Senate Executive Committee by acclamation.

PRESENTATION AND DISCUSSION ON CODE OF STUDENT CONDUCT - Ann Newman, Director of the Office of Student Conduct

Martha Cotter, Co-chair of the University Senate's Academic Standards, Regulations and Admissions Committee, spoke briefly about the Code of Student Conduct, then introduced Ann Newman, Director of the Office of Student Conduct, who took the podium and spoke about the code. At the end of her comments, she asked that anyone willing to volunteer for hearing boards email her.
OLD BUSINESS: There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, reported on the June 20 and July 11 Board of Governors meetings. Senator Menahem Spiegel, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees, reported on the September 19 Board of Trustees meeting.

CAMPUS FACULTY LIAISON REPORTS: Camden Faculty Council Chair Samuel Rabinowitz reported on that group's current activities and plans. New Brunswick Faculty Council Chair Martha Cotter reported that her council will meet on October 11.

CHAIR'S CLOSING COMMENTS: Chairperson Gould reminded Senators that the bulk of the Senate's work takes place in the standing committees. She asked all Senators to set aside Senate-Friday mornings for those committee meetings.

The meeting adjourned at 3:41 p.m.

Minutes written and submitted by:
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate