MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: October 14, 2011

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, Rutgers Student Center, New Brunswick Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Akincigil,  Alizadeh, Atkins, Ayres, Bagchi, Barone, Barraco, Beachem, Berman, Bhuyan, Bodnar, Boikess, Borisovets, Brennan, Bubb, Buchholtz, Bunch, Cachel, Caprio, Cashin, Chant, Cooper, Cosandey, Cotter, Creese, DeLisi, Dietrich, Dighton, Edwards, Fagley, Fehn, Figueira, Gillett, Goldstein, Gomes, Goodman, Gould, Grabosky, Greenhut, Gurfinkiel, Gwira, Heckscher, Hetling, Hock, Hudson, Hyndman, Janes, Jerome-D'Emilia, Jimenez, Klein, Kukor, Lawton, Lindgren, Loftus, Lynch, Markowitz, Mazurek, McCormick, McKay, Messer, Midlarsky, Milliman, Miranti, Mojaddedi, Mullen, Muse, Niederman, Newman, Norville, O'Connor, Oliver, Otto, Ottomanelli, Panayotatos, Pandey, Patel, Paterno, Pavlovic, Potenza, Puhak, Quiles, Rabinowitz, Saito, Sanghvi, Schantz, Shapiro, Sheflin, Sills, Simmons, Singh, Sokolov, Sorensen, Spasojevic, Stein, Suplee, Szatrowski, Taghon, Tancs, Thompson, Toney-Boss, Trammell, Tu, Uzuegbu, Vodak, Wagner, Wang, Wilson, Winkler, Winterbauer, Wolf, Yabut, Zaki

EXCUSED: Bhanot, Bittner, Boylan, Canavan, DiVito, Dugue, Farris, Gaunt, Gunkel, Guo, Henriques, Hmelo-Silver, Hwang, Isenburg, Kenfield, Kerr, Lalani, McKeever, Minsky, Naus, Pirrello, Robinson, Rosario, H. Roth, Schorr, Schrire, Schwartz, Smith, Solomon, Spellmeyer, Spiegel, Stillwagon, Vander Hoff, White, Yeagle, Yoon

ABSENT: Arowolo, Avakame, Buch, Clarke, Clear, Connelly, Coppola, Diner, Dougherty, Farmer, Fontana, Gabriel, Ganesh, Gao, Garcia, Garzon, Grant, Greenberg, Harris, Hoffman, Holzemer, Holzer, Honey, Hughes, Jasey, Katz, Leibman, Levinson, Lewis, Li, Lindenmeyer, Mann, McLean, Minucci, Pottick, Pritchett, G. Roth, Sahi, Schement, Schurman, Shafer, Shah, Stauffer, Violette, Zimmerman

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 99 total: 68   present (69%), 18 excused (18%), 13 absent (13%); Students: Of 39 total: 20 present (52%), 9 excused (23%), 10 absent (25%); Administrators: Of 36 total: 10 present (28%), 6 excused (17%), 20 absent (55%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 6 present (100%); Staff: Of 13 total: 8 present (62%), 3 excused (23%), 2 absent (15%)

View Senate Attendance Record for this year

PRESIDING OFFICER: Paul Panayotatos, Chairperson


Chairperson Panayotatos called the meeting to order at 1:15 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the Rutgers Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. He welcomed everyone to the first Senate meeting of the year at which business would be conducted.

SECRETARY'S REPORT - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary
SPECIAL ELECTION - NEWARK STUDENT SENATOR MEMBER OF THE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: No candidates for Newark Student Member of the Executive Committee had been nominated during last year's election of Senate Executive Committee members. Chairperson Panayotatos called for nominations from the floor for Newark Student Member of the Executive Committee. None was forthcoming. Panayotatos announced that the position will remain vacant until an eligible Newark Student Senator candidate can be nominated.


Academic Standards, Regulations and Admissions Committee (ASRAC) Response to Charge CI-1106 on Input to the Code of Student Conduct - Martha Cotter and Dan Schantz, ASRAC Co-chairs
Executive Secretary Swalagin explained that the "CI" prefix on this charge indicated that the report was the result of "committee initiative," and that the charge was issued following the ASRAC's deliberations on the issue and drafting of the resolution that was now before the Senate. ASRAC Co-chair Martha Cotter then summarized her committee's discussions and the resolution containing recommendations on Charge CI-1106 on Input to the Code of Student Conduct. Following brief discussion, the report and its recommendations were then adopted unanimously by the Senate.

OLD BUSINESS: There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - President Richard L. McCormick

President McCormick presented an administrative report, which included comments on topics including:
A moment of silence was observed in memory of Katheryne McCormick, President McCormick's mother, and a longtime Rutgers faculty member, who died October 9, 2011.

President McCormick then responded to questions, or heard comments, on a variety of subjects, including:
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT: Vice Chairperson Ann Gould reported on the September 9, 2011 Executive Committee meeting.

REPORTS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, reported on the July 14 and October 12, 2011 Board of Governors meetings. Senator Rabinowitz was the 2010-11 Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees, and therefore also reported on the June 14, 2011 Board of Trustees meeting. Senator Martha Cotter, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees, reported on the September 22, 2011 Board of Trustees meeting.

 Senator Joel Shapiro, chair of the New Brunswick Faculty Council, reported on the plans, as well as the May 13, 2011 meeting, of the New Brunswick Faculty Council. There were no reports from Camden or Newark faculty liaisons.

COMMITTEE-OF-THE-WHOLE DISCUSSION on Qualifications and Criteria for the Selection of a New Rutgers University President: Input from the Senate to the Search Committee (of which Senate Chair Panayotatos is a member): At 2:03 p.m., Senator Peter Gillett successfully moved the Senate to committee of the whole for a discussion of qualifications and criteria for the selection of a new Rutgers president. The discussion continued until 2:32 p.m., at which time Gillett moved the Senate from committee of the whole.

ADJOURNMENT: On motion and duly seconded, the meeting adjourned at 2:32 p.m.

Minutes Written and Submitted by:
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate