MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: November 13, 2015

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Essex Room 232, Paul Robeson Campus Center, Newark Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Abacan, Ahmed, Aioub, Alder, Anderson, Ardeshna, Asker, Avadhani, Avakame, Barchi, Borden, Borisovets, Calabrese, Cantor, Chandler, Chayko, Cotter, Cruz, Dasari, Davis, A. Dsai, DiVito, Drachtman, Durham, Edwards, Eisenstein, Faenza, Fagley, Fennell, Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, Gillett, Gold, Gonzalez, Gould, Gramieri, K. Gursoy, M. Gursoy, Huselid, Israel, Jamknanawala, Joergensen, Joo, Kalan, Kelshikar, Killingsworth, Kressel, Kustka, Kuzma, Lado, Langer, B. Lee, Jan Lewis, Lu, Markert, Meck, Meyer, Morrell, Mouradian, Norville, Oleske, Oliver, Otto, Pandey, Parisi, Pereira, Pintar, Pirrello, Pitt, Ponzio, Prestigiacomo, Puhak, Pusukur, Rabinowitz, Roth, Ryan, Samant, Santana, Scheck, Schulberg, Schwartz, Scoloveno, C. Scott, K. Scott, Settles, J. Shapiro, Singh, Spiegel, Stein, Tamburello, Theiss, Thomson, Thompson, Toney-Boss, Torres, Wagner, Wakim, Williams, Winkler, Winterbauer, Zurlo

EXCUSED:  Ahluwalia, Balog, Barbarese, Bhuyan, Boikess, Boruchoff, Bridgeman, Butler, Charles, Covello, Delnevo, R. Desai, Dreyer, Edward, Esposito, Fletcher, Hayton, D. Hughes, Janniger, Kirna, K. Lee, Mahtabfar, Maloney, Martinez-San Miguel, Mazurek, McKeever, Miranti, Murphy, Nissen, O'Connell, Rajesh, Saltzman, Shaban, Shapley, M. Shapiro, Shinbrot, Struwe, Sung, Szabo, Trehan, Wang

ABSENT:  Alizadeh, Anaele, Anthony, Barone, Barraco, Benford, Blanchett, Bugel, Burley, Capone, Chau, Chen, Cooper, Covington, Deans, Dixon, D'Souza, Eastman, Farmbry, Farris, Fehn, Feldman, Gabriel, Gajic, Ganesh, Goh, Goodman, Gower, Grant, Grave, Haddon, Heckscher, Holzemer, Holzer, J. Hughes, Johnson, Kantor, Kolbaba, Kukor, LaBella, Lei, Jane Lewis, Lindenmeyer, Lynch, Mahon, March, Marcone, Maruna, McGinnis, Messer, Mhaske, Miller, Moran, Oberdiek, Palmer, Patel, Portillo, C. Potter, J. Potter, Ramsamy, Robinson, Salmond, Schiavo, Scotto, Sharp, Stauffer, Stillwagon, Strom, Szatrowski, Takacs, Thomas, Toth, Wasserman, White, Wise

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY: Faculty: Of 104 total: 55 present (53%), 22 excused (21%), 27 absent (26%); Students: Of 45 total: 24 present (53%), 10 excused (22%), 11 absent (24%);    Administrators: Of 43 total: 7 present (16%), 3 excused (7%), 33 absent (77%); Staff: Of 18 total: 11 present (61%), 4 excused (22%), 3 absent (17%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 3 present (50%), 2 excused (33%), 1 absent (17%)
View Senate Attendance Record for this year


Chairperson Ann Gould called the meeting to order at 1:17 p.m. in the Essex Room 232 of the Paul Robeson Campus Center, Newark Campus. She welcomed all attendees, and thanked Chancellor Nancy Cantor and her office for hosting the Senate, and for providing lunch. She then summarized the meeting agenda, and reminded those who arrived in Newark on the Senate's charter bus that the bus would depart for the return trip to New Brunswick 15 minutes post-adjournment.

SECRETARY'S REPORT - Ken Swalagin, Executive Secretary
NEWARK CHANCELLOR'S REPORTNewark Chancellor Nancy Cantor

Newark Chancellor Nancy Cantor presented the Newark Chancellor's Report. Click the following link to view Chancellor Cantor's PowerPoint presentation. Cantor then responded to questions from Senators, including on the subject of Rutgers Newark's newly forming Staff Council.

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - University President Robert Barchi

President Barchi presented a brief administrative report, commenting on topics including:
President Barchi then responded to questions, or heard comments, on the above and a variety of other subjects, including:

University Structure and Governance Committee (USGC) Response to Charge S-1410 on Honorary Degree and Commencement Speaker Selection Processes - Jon Oliver and Robert Puhak, USGC Co-chairs

USGC Co-chairs Jon Oliver and Robert Puhak summarized their committee's report on Honorary Degree and Commencement Speaker Selection Processes, which was a response to the USGC being charged as follows:

Charge S-1410 - Formulate details of processes to be used to facilitate the proposal submitted to President Barchi on Charge S-1405 on Procedures for Selecting Commencement Speakers and Honorary Degree Recipients.

The report was discussed, and modified slightly by friendly amendment from the USGC. Because the resolution contained recommended changes to Senate bylaws, those changes were introduced but not voted on at this meeting. The portion of the resolution not related to bylaws was adopted with three opposed, as follows:

Be it resolved that the University Senate endorses the USGC's recommendations as contained in this report regarding the process to select honorary-degree recipients and commencement speakers, and asks the University administration to implement that process going forward, starting with 2017 commencement.

Executive Committee (EC) Resolution in Support of Part-Time Lecturers - Brandon Theiss, Camden Student Member of the Executive Committee, for the Executive Committee

Camden Student Member of the Senate Executive Committee Brandon Theiss presented a Resolution in Support of Part-Time Lecturers, on behalf of the Senate Executive Committee. Without further discussion, the resolution was adopted by the Senate with two opposed.

Briefing on Web Accessibility Policy, and Committee-of-the-Whole Discussion - Senator Natalie Borisovets moved the Senate into committee of the whole to discuss the policy. In response to Gould's request, motions were made successfully extending total meeting time by 15 minutes, and setting a 15-minute time limit for the committee-of-the-whole discussion. Senate Vice Chair Peter Gillett assumed the chair while Gould went to the floor for the discussion. Gayle Stein, Associate Director for Instructional Technology, OIT-Office of Instructional and Research Technology; Christian Aziz, Manager of Information Technology, and William Welsh, Executive Director, Office of Disability Services, then summarized the Web Accessibility Policy, and responded to questions, and heard comments from the Senate. Following discussion, Senator Martha Cotter moved the Senate out of committee of the whole. Gould then resumed the chair.

There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT - Senate Vice Chair Peter Gillett reported on the October 30, 2015 meeting and activities of the Senate Executive Committee.

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, said that there had been no meeting of the Board of Governors since the previous Senate meeting. Senator Asha Samant, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees, said that there had been no meeting of the Board of Trustees since the previous Senate meeting.

CAMPUS FACULTY AND STUDENT LIAISON REPORTS: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, a member of the Camden Faculty Council, said that there had been no meeting of that council since the previous Senate meeting. Senator Brandon Theiss reported on recent Camden student plans and activities. Senator Mark Killingsworth, New Brunswick Faculty Council Chairperson, reported on that group's activities and plans. Senator Justin Schulberg, New Brunswick Student Member of the Senate Executive Committee, reported on New Brunswick student governing association activities. Newark Student Senator Kimberly Lu reported on Newark student governing association activities. Swalagin read to the Senate a report prepared by Newark Student Member of the Senate Executive Committee Edmund Janniger (who was again unable to attend the meeting) on Newark student governing association activities.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 3:46 p.m.

Minutes Written and Submitted by,
Ken Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the University Senate