October 7, 2005

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Boikess, Cotter (Chair), Curtis, DeLuca, LaSala, Panayotatos, Rabinowitz (Vice Chair), Swalagin (Executive Secretary)

EXCUSED:  Darien

ALSO ATTENDING:  Furmanski (Administrative Liaison), Leath (Faculty BOG Representative), McCormick (Administrative Liaison)

The regular meeting of the University Senate Executive Committee was held on Friday, October 7, 2005 at 1:10 p.m. in the Administrative Conference Room, Administrative Services Building III, Cook Campus. 

1.             Chairperson’s Report

Chairperson Cotter said that she would contact Senator Brigid Farrell and Ruth Ann Koenick, Director of Sexual Assault Services and Crime Victim Assistance, regarding Senator Farrell’s suggestion that the Senate host a sexual assault presentation by Ms. Koenick.  Cotter also said that she had drafted a preliminary list of potential committee members for upcoming deans’ evaluations (discussed later in the meeting under “New Business”).

2.             Secretary's Report

Minutes:  With two corrections, the Minutes of the September 9, 2005 Executive Committee meeting were approved.

3.             Administrative Report

President McCormick delivered the administrative report, which included comments on: 

4.             Standing Committee Reports and Charges

Potential Charge to Equal Opportunity Committee and/or Faculty Affairs and Personnel Committee:  Senator Peter Simmons had suggested that one or more Senate standing committees be charged with reviewing the American Council on Education (Office of Women in Higher Education) and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation report entitled “An Agenda for Excellence: Creating Flexibility in Tenure-Track Faculty Careers.”  No charge was issued, but Senator Simmons will be asked to bring the issue back to the Executive Committee after February 2006 (by which time the Senate will have acted on the Task Force on Undergraduate Education’s recommendations).

5.             October 21, 2005 University Senate Meeting Agenda

Items were docketed and prioritized on the Senate’s October 21, 2005 agenda, including:

6.             Old Business 

There was no Old Business.

7.             New Business

Chairperson Cotter presented and solicited additions to a draft list of proposed members of the evaluation committees for Dean Holly Smith (FAS-NB) and Dean Stanley Messer (GSAPP).  Cotter will continue to solicit suggestions for committee members, and will circulate the list to the Executive Committee before forwarding it to Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Furmanski.

8.          Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m. by Chairperson Cotter.

Kenneth Swalagin
Executive Secretary of the Senate