Executive Committee

June 8, 2018 - 12:00 noon


1. Chairperson's Report - Peter Gillett, Senate Chair

2. Secretary’s Report - Mary Mickelsen, Senate Executive Secretary

3. Administrative Report - Barbara Lee, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

4. Old Business

President Barchi's Response to the Senate's report and recommendations on Charge S-1609: Revisions to Rutgers University Academic Integrity Policy - Barbara Lee, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

An update on President Barchi's response to S-1609 in light of concerns raised by the Academic, Standards, Regulations, and Admissions Committee at the December 1, 2017 Senate Executive Committee meeting.

5. School of Public Health Departmental Mergers - Dean Perry Halkitis and Vice Dean Cristine Delnevo

Dean Halkitis and Vice Dean Delnevo are requesting the Senate Executive Committee's guidance on the merger of the following SPH departments:

Senate Questionnaire for Establishment, Dissolution, Merging, or Major Restructuring of Colleges, Schools, Institutes, and Other Units

6. Standing Committees/Panels

Draft Standing Committee Rosters 2018-19, and Assignment of Chairs [Current draft committee rosters will be distributed in hardcopy at the meeting.] 

Appointment of 2018-19 University Commencement Panel (UCP) - Jon Oliver, UCP Chair

2017-18 Members of University Commencement Panel (UCP) - The Executive Committee assigned members of the UCP, which is composed of representation from each unit (R-C, R-N, R-NB, RBHS), as follows:

a. Executive Secretary of the Senate (non-voting) - Ken Swalagin
b. Vice Chair of the Senate (chairs the UCP) - Jon Oliver (New Brunswick)
c. Four Faculty Senators, with each of the following groups being represented:
- tenure-track - Samuel Rabinowitz (Camden), Mary Jo Bugel (RBHS)
- non-tenure-track - Eleanor LaPointe (New Brunswick)
- part-time lecturers - Dominick Novelli (Newark)
d. One Staff Senator - Antoinette Johnson (RBHS)
e. One Alumni Senator - Josephine Marchetta
f. Two Student Senators - Christopher Shinn (Camden), and Caroline Ini Ross (New Brunswick)

Issues/Proposed Charges:

Proposed Charge to Faculty and Personnel Affairs Committee (FPAC) on Contingent Faculty Proposal - Part I, Reviewed- Submitted by Karen Thompson

Proposed Charge: Revisit and review the Senate's Response to Charge S-0705, Contingent Faculty Proposal- Part I.

Committee Report:

Faculty and Personnel Affairs Committee (FPAC) Response to Charge S-1712 on Procedures for Handling Student Complaints Against Rutgers Personnel - Joseph Markert and Alexander Settles, FPAC Co-chairs

The FPAC has been charged as follows:

Consider and make recommendations for improving procedures for handling student complaints against Rutgers personnel, as well as how those procedures are communicated to students and personnel. 

7. Old Business, con't

Parking Costs and the Disparities between RBHS and Legacy Rutgers Faculty/Staff Permit Charges - Tony Calcado, Executive Vice President for Strategic Planning & Operations/Chief Operating Officer and Harry Agnostak, Associate Vice President of Labor Relations

Robert Wood Johnson/Barnabas Affiliation: Communication and the Financial & Employment Impacts - Brian Strom, RBHS Chancellor

Motion from The Newark Faculty Council

The following motion was passed unanimously by the Newark Faculty Council on April 9, 2018:

In light of the restructuring of Rutgers in recent years and the greater administrative independence of the Camden, Newark, and New Brunswick campuses from each other and in light of recent advances in technology, the Newark Faculty Council formally requests that the University Senate hold more than one meeting per academic year in Newark and arrange for Newark senators to participate in Council and Committee meeting via Skype or some other electronic means.

Newark Faculty Council Chair Jane Gilman, forwarded the above motion with a formal response to Senate Chair Peter Gillett on May 24, 2018.

8. New Business

9. Adjournment