RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY UNIVERSITY SENATE

MINUTES: Organizational Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: April 28, 2023

TIME AND PLACE: 10:00 a.m., Remote via Zoom

MEMBERS PRESENT: Adamo, Allen, C. Anderson, K. Anderson, Andrews, Apel, Askew, Aubry, Bachmann, Bhavaraju, Bhuyan, Boikess, Boison, Borie-Holtz, Borisovets, Boucher, Boxer, Bridgeman, Cahill, Caponegro, Carpenter, Chama, Chang, Chiricolo, Choron, Clarke, Collick, Cooper, Dai, Davis, Dock, Eastman, Esposito, Everett, Everts, Fatahzadeh, Figueira, Foster, Fox, Gahlawat, Garcia, Giermanski, Giraud, Gong, Gower, Graham, Granadeiro, G. Guo, Z. Guo, Gursoy, Haley, Hamawy, Haviland, Hayes, Hewitt, Holmes, Ibrahim, Kahanda, Kahng, Kaplan, Kelly, Khan, Kiss, Knievel, Kolben, LaMorte, Ladell, Lee, Levine, Losada, Maeng Brown, Manzini, Marchetta, Matta, McKeever, Merisier, Meshoyrer, Murphy, Nucci, O'Connor, Orelus, Osorio-Fernandez, Parsa, S. Patel, Pierce, Poole, Prihoda, Purcell, Quincy, Sam Rabinowitz, Rodriguez, Roth, Saltzman, Samaan, Santitoro, Santos Mendoza, Savage, Sayde, Schroth, Schwartz, Scott, Searcy, Sergel, Shafik, Shapiro, Shinbrot, Shobut, Siederer, Simonds, Smith, Spiegel, Suh, Swamy, Szatrowski, Tawadros, Tewfik, Thompson, Tirino, Torres, Van Stine, Vito, Volino, Wagner, Weiss, White, Wirtenberg, Wolfe, Yusuf, Zhou

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Ariwoola, Barbarella Andrews, Copeland, Cundiff, Dane, Davy, Holloway, Keates, Lutz, Pintar, Moghe, Oliver, Sharma

MEMBERS ABSENT: Abuliak, Adya, Ameri, Anderson Eloy, Ardeshna, Axelsson, Barone, Blanchett, Camartin, Campbell, Cantor, Conway, Cuitiño, Eaton, Edelstein, Feldman, Flynn, Fudge, Geary, Griffin, Habeb, Halkitis, Henderson, Hien, Irizarry, Javanmard, Joergensen, Johnson, Kaye, Kazi, Kettle, Kustka, Lawson, Lehman, Lei, Leibman, Li, Lopez, March, Mazurek, McCarthy, Menifield, Merians, Murtha, Mutcherson, O'Halloran, O'Toole, Papakonstantinou, Pedersen, Perez, C. Potter, J. Potter, Raheel, Rossman-Murphy, Sarath, Schnetzer, Shapiro, Smart, Sonnenberg, Strom, Takhistov, Tare, Tillis, Torres, Whitehead, Zhang

CALL TO ORDER AND DETERMINATION OF A QUORUM – Adrienne Simonds, Chair

Chair Simonds called the first meeting of the 2023-24 Rutgers University Senate to order at 10:22 a.m.

SECRETARY'S REPORT – Vicki Hewitt, Executive Secretary

- Committee Preference for New Senators (<u>committee preference form</u> and <u>further</u> <u>information</u> will also be, or has already been, sent via email)
- <u>Schedule of 2023-24 Senate and Executive Committee Meetings</u>

- SAVE THE DATE: New Senator Orientation September 15, 2023
- Review of individual member profiles on the Senate website

REPORT OF THE NOMINATING PANEL – Lucille Foster and Samuel Rabinowitz, Nominating Panel Co-Chairs

Nominating Panel Co-Chair Sam Rabinowitz presented the report of the Nominating Panel and gave a brief overview of the nomination and election process.

Senator Rabinowitz announced candidates for all positions, calling for nominations from the floor in each category except for Chair and Vice Chair, as mandated by USGC report S-1501. He also announced that Student elections will be conducted in the fall because of a lack of availability of election results.

After nominations were completed, including those made from the floor, the resultant slate of candidates was:

Chair: Robert Schwartz, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School (F); Adrienne Simonds, School of Health Professions (F)

Vice Chair: Lucille Foster, RBS-Newark (F); Robert Schwartz, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School (F)

Executive Committee Camden Faculty: Ralph Giraud, School of Business-Camden (F)

Executive Committee New Brunswick Faculty: Robert Boikess, SAS-NB (F); Anna Haley, School of Social Work (F); Robert Scott, School of Arts and Sciences-NB (F); Troy Shinbrot, School of Engineering (F)

Executive Committee Newark Faculty: Paul Boxer, SAS-N (F); Ted Szatrowski, Rutgers Business School (F)

Executive Committee RBHS Faculty: Geza Kiss, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (F); Monica Roth, RBHS At-Large (F); Kevin Schroth, RBHS Centers, Bureaus and Institutes (F); Robert Schwartz, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School (F)

Executive Committee Full-Time Faculty At-Large: Robert Boikess, SAS-NB (F); Monica Roth, RBHS At-Large (F); Kevin Schroth, RBHS Centers, Bureaus and Institutes (F); Robert Schwartz, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School (F); Troy Shinbrot, School of Engineering (F); Ted Szatrowski, Rutgers Business School (F)

Executive Committee Part-Time Lecturer Faculty: Karen Thompson, PTL-NB (F)

Executive Committee Alumni: Houshang Parsa, Alumni Association (A)

Executive Committee Staff: Adrienne Esposito, New Brunswick Staff; Rehan Khan, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences Staff

Board of Governors Faculty Representative: Thomas Figueira, School of Arts and Sciences-NB (F); Heather Pierce, Part-Time Lecturer-New Brunswick, Faculty; Samuel Rabinowitz, School of Business-C (F)

RESULTS OF THE 2023-24 ELECTIONS:

Chair: Adrienne Simonds, School of Health Professions (F)

Vice Chair: Lucille Foster, RBS-Newark (F)

Executive Committee Camden Faculty: Ralph Giraud, School of Business-Camden (F)

Executive Committee New Brunswick Faculty: Anna Haley, School of Social Work (F)

Executive Committee Newark Faculty: Paul Boxer, SAS-N (F)

Executive Committee RBHS Faculty: Geza Kiss, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (F)

Executive Committee Full-Time Faculty At-Large: Monica Roth, RBHS At-Large (F); Kevin Schroth, RBHS Centers, Bureaus and Institutes (F)

Executive Committee Part-Time Lecturer Faculty: Karen Thompson, PTL-NB (F)

Executive Committee Alumni: Houshang Parsa, Alumni Association (A)

Executive Committee Staff: Adrienne Esposito, New Brunswick Staff

Due to concerns about the election for Board of Governors Faculty Representative and time constraints, elections for the Board of Governors Faculty Representative and Board of Trustees Faculty Representative were postponed.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 1:01 p.m.

Minutes prepared by: Vicki Hewitt, Executive Secretary of the University Senate