RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY UNIVERSITY SENATE

MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: September 22, 2023

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Remote via Zoom

MEMBERS PRESENT: Allen, Amin, Amjad, Anderson, Apel, Ariwoola, Askew, Axelsson, Bachmann, Barbarello Andrews, Bhuyan, Boikess, Boison, Borie-Holtz, Borisovets, Boucher, Boxer, Bridgeman, Caponegro, Carpenter, Chama, Chang, Clarke, Collick, Cooper, Copeland, Dai, Dane, Davis, Dinnall, Dock, Easley, Eastman, Edelstein, Esposito, Everett, Everts, Fang, Fedorko, Figueira, Foster, Fudge, Gahlawat, Giermanski, Giraud, Godoy, Gower, Graham, Granadeiro, Guo, Gursoy, Haley, Hisham Hamawy, Hayes, Hennessy, Hernandez, Hewitt, Holmes, Hong, Ibrahim, Javanmard, Kahanda, Kaplan, Keates, Kelly, Khan, Kiss, Knievel, Kolben, Kustka, LaMorte, Lamorgese, Lee, Lehman, Levin, Levine, Li, Lutz, Maeng Brown, Manzini, Marchetta, Markowitz, McKeever, Merisier, Moghe, Morales, Morton, Murphy, O'Connor, O'Halloran, Olivera, Orelus, Osorio-Fernandez, Ozel, Parsa, Patel, Pichugin, Pierce, Pintar, Poole, Prihoda, Purcell, Quincy, Rabinowitz, Ramachandran, Saltzman, Savage, Sayde, Schnetzer, Schroth, Schwartz, Scott, Searcy, Sergel, Serrano, Sese, Sharma, Shinbrot, Shobut, Siederer, Simonds, Sloan-Power, Smith, Sonnenberg, Szatrowski, Takhistov, Thompson, Torres, Truschke, Wagner, White, Winters, Wirtenberg, Wolfe, Yusuf, Zhang, Zhou

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Aubry, Cahill, Desir, Fulton, Kahng, Nucci, Paiste, Tirino

MEMBERS ABSENT: Abuliak, Adamo, Adya, Ameri, Anderson, Anderson Eloy, Andrews, Ardeshna, Ayorinde, Barone, Bhavaraju, Blanchett, Bond, Campbell, Cantor, Charles, Chiricolo, Choron, Ciolek, Conway, Cuitiño, Cundiff, Davy, Eaton, Edwards, Fatahzadeh, Feldman, Flynn, Fox, Garcia, Geary, Giberson, Gong, Griffin, Guo, Habeb, Halkitis, Haviland, Henderson, Holloway, Inman, Irizarry, Johnson, Joseph, Kamen, Kaye, Kazi, Kettle, Ladell, Lawson, Lei, Leibman, Lemish, Losada, Matta, Mazurek, Mbadugha, McCarthy, Merians, Meshoyrer, Murtha, Nickitas, Oberle, Papakonstantinou, Perez, Raheel, Robson, Rodriguez, Rossman-Murphy, Roth, Samaan, Santos Mendoza, Sarath, Shafik, M. Shapiro, S. Shapiro, Shaw, Smart, Spiegel, Strom, Suh, Swamy, Tare, Tewfik, Tillis, Torres, Van Ryzin, Van Stine, Vito, Volino, Wade, Weiss, White, Whitehead

CALL TO ORDER, DETERMINATION OF A QUORUM, AND CHAIR'S REPORT – Adrienne Simonds, Chair

Chair Simonds called the meeting to order at 1:15 p.m. She welcomed new and continuing senators attending the meeting. She thanked Vice Chair Foster and the Senate office staff, as well as Executive Committee members and standing committee co-chairs. She encouraged senators to refer to Robert's Rules of Order and the Senate Handbook to learn more about

Senate procedure. She announced the appointment of Senator Heather Pierce as Parliamentarian for the 2023-24 Senate term. She announced the dissemination of the Academic Freedom Survey later this month, which originated as a joint charge to the Faculty and Personnel Affairs and the Student Affairs Committees.

SECRETARY'S REPORT – Vicki Hewitt, Executive Secretary

 Agenda: The meeting agenda was approved, with the addition of two items of New Business. The two items of New Business were moved to the top of the agenda.

• Administrative Responses

- Response to S-2110: Research Information Systems
- BOG Chair Best's Response to the Resolution on Remediating University Policy Violations Related to the Proposed Medical School Merger
- Letter from President Holloway Concerning Engagement with the Senate

Policy Update

- University Policy 60.1.34 Rutgers University Disability and Reasonable Accommodation Policy
- <u>University Policy 60.1.35 Immunization Policy for Rutgers Employees and Prospective Employees</u>
- o <u>University Policy 60.1.36 Immunization Policy for University Affiliates</u>
- University Policy 20.1.11 Procurement and Payment Policy
- o <u>University Policy 20.1.13 Naming of Facilities and Programs</u>

Communications

- o 2023-2024 Senate Calendar
- New Senator Orientation was held on September 15, 2023. Materials are available on the <u>Information for Senators page</u>, under Additional Resources.
- Membership of the Ad Hoc Committee on Senate Officer Compensation
- o Reminder to log in to the Senate website for attendance and voting access.

NEW BUSINESS

Two items of new business were added to the agenda.

The first was a motion to adopt a <u>Resolution of a Vote of No Confidence in the Leadership of Rutgers President Jonathan Holloway</u>. With unanimous consent, the phrase "Overseeing a 6% increase in tuition for Rutgers students" was amended to "Overseeing a 6% increase in tuition, 5% for housing rates and 7% increase in dining fees for Rutgers students." This resolution was adopted.

The second was a motion to adopt a <u>Resolution of Support for Striking Nurses at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital New Brunswick</u>. With unanimous consent, the phrase "The Faculty Caucus of the Rutgers University Senate calls upon the full Rutgers University Senate to support" was amended to "The Rutgers University Senate supports." This resolution was adopted.

RESULTS OF THE SPECIAL ELECTION FOR EXECUTVE COMMITTEE AND BOARD REPRESENTATIVE POSITIONS

Board of Governors Faculty Representative: Heather Pierce, Lecturer-New Brunswick, Faculty

Board of Trustees Faculty Representatives: Robert Boikess, School of Arts and Sciences-NB, Faculty, and Robert Schwartz, New Jersey Medical School, Faculty

Executive Committee Student Representative – Camden: Alexis Winters, Camden College of Arts and Sciences, Student

Executive Committee Student Representative – New Brunswick: Christopher Godoy, School of Arts and Sciences-NB, Student

Executive Committee Student Representative – Newark: Tiffany Olivera, Graduate School-Newark, Student

Board of Governors Student Representative: Safanya Searcy, School of Criminal Justice, Student

Board of Trustees Undergraduate Student Representative: Brielle Fedorko, School of Arts and Sciences-NB, Student

Board of Trustees Graduate Student Representative: Tumininu Ayorinde, New Jersey Medical School, Student

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Minutes prepared by:

Vicki Hewitt, Executive Secretary of the University Senate