RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY UNIVERSITY SENATE

MINUTES: Special Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: January 31, 2025

TIME AND PLACE: 8:30 a.m., Remote via Zoom

MEMBERS PRESENT: Ahmed, Allen, K. Anderson, C. Anderson, Apel, Askew, Bachmann, Baker, Barbarello Andrews, Bhuyan, Boikess, Borisovets, Boucher, Boxer, Carney-Waterton, Clarke, Collick, Conway, Cooper, Dane, Davis, DeMatteo, Diaz-Tena, Dock, Easley, Eastman, Ebert, Esposito, Everett, Fatahzadeh, Fedorko, Foster, Giraud, Godoy, Gower, Grachan, Granadeiro, Green-Mercado, Griffin, Guo, Gurbuzbalaban, Gursoy, Haberl, Haley, Hart, Haviland, Henry, Hoffman, Jeyaprakash, Jordan-McKinney, Kayyal, Keates, R. Khan, S. Khan, Kiss, Knievel, Kustka, Ladell, Lam, Lee, Lobman, Markowitz, Mbadugha, Morales, P. Morton, C. Morton, Nadeem, O'Connor, Olivera, Osorio-Fernandez, Özel, Parsa, S. Patel, Pichugin, Pierce, Pontes, Purcell, Quincy, Ramachandran, Ramirez Polo, Robinson, Robles, Rodriguez, Rokerya, Rossman-Murphy, Roth, Salas-de la Cruz, Saltzman, Santos Mendoza, Schafer, Schwartz, Searcy, Sergel, Shaw, Shinbrot, Sonnenberg, Szatrowski, Taha, Takhistov, Torres, Truschke, Wilkinson, Wirtenberg, Wolfe, Yusuf, Zarouni, Zwick

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Cahill, Izhar, Kamen, Lutz, Pintar, Rabinowitz, Williams, Zhang

MEMBERS ABSENT: Abdelfattah, Adamo, Adya, Ahmed, Alkhalili, Ameri, Amjad, Anderson Eloy, Andrews, Anner, Ardeshna, Axelsson, Barone, Begum, Bernard, Bond, Boppey, Borie-Holtz, Bridgeman, Brown, Cafiero, Caponegro, Chao, Chiricolo, Choron, Cotter, Cuitiño, Curchitser, Dai, DiGiovanni, Dylewska, Elkholy, Everts, Feldman, Feng, Fenker, Figueira, Firat, Fulton, Geary, Giermanski, Gilmartin, Gnanaprakasam, Gong, Gould, Graham, Graham, Halkitis, Hisham Hamawy, Henderson, Holloway, Horan, Jaber, Javanmard, John, Johnson, Kaplan, Kaye, Kettle, Lam, Lawson, Lehman, Lei, Leibowitz, Lemish, Lescht, Maeng Brown, Maerhofer, Maganti, Mahajan-Cusack, Maliga, Mao, Matise, Mattis, Mazurek, B. McCarthy, C. McCarthy, McKeever, Moghe, Murphy, Murtha, Nickitas, Nucci, Oberle, Oliver, K. Patel, A. Patel, V. Patel, P. Patel, Perez, Ramchandani, Rentzel, Reshamdalal, Risman, Robson, Rohowsky-Kochan, Ruocco, Sarath, Savage, Sayde, Schroth, Scott, Senger, Sese, Shah, M. Shapiro, S. Shapiro, Shobut, Silva, Simonds, Sloan-Power, Smart, Muriel Soler, Sow, Span, Spiegel, Starkweather, Strom, Suh, Syed, Tewfik, Tillis, Tirino, Usman, Volino, Wade, Wagner, Weiss, White, Yang, Zhou

CALL TO ORDER AND DETERMINATION OF A QUORUM - Lucille Foster, Chair

Chair Foster called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

RESOLUTION CONDEMNING THE RACIST CANCELLATION OF THE RUTGERS APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAMS CONFERENCE

This resolution was withdrawn with unanimous consent.

RESOLUTION ON THE FEDERAL GRANT FUNDING FREEZE AND UNIVERSITY RESPONSE

A motion was made to adopt an updated version of this resolution. The resolution was amended as follows:

- A clause was added after the fifth Whereas clause: "WHEREAS the Trump Administration has made clear its intention to pursue a reduction or elimination of federal funding that is essential to scholarship and academic freedom through a variety of mechanisms moving forward."
- In the fourth Whereas clause, "scientific" was amended to "educational and research."
- In the final clause, "politically-motivated" was struck.

The amended resolution was adopted.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:22 a.m.

Minutes prepared by: Vicki Hewitt, Executive Secretary of the University Senate