Committees - Rutgers University Senate Skip to main content

The Rutgers University Senate currently has seven active standing committees, and one Executive Committee. Senators are usually appointed to the standing committee of their choice. The Executive Committee general functions as a steering committee, and its members are elected each year by the full Senate. Senators (other than Executive Committee members) may serve on only one standing committee at a time. As a Senator, your attendance at committee meetings, and participation in committee activities, are vital to Senate effectiveness. Standing committees ordinarily meet on the mornings of Senate meeting days.


Standing Committees and Committee Rosters:

Academic Standards, Regulations, and Admissions – matters directly concerning these areas

Access, Belonging, Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity – matters directly concerning these areas

Budget and Finance – budget priorities, allocations and general planning

Faculty and Personnel Affairs – matters directly concerning faculty and other personnel as they affect the academic mission of Rutgers, with the exception of matters included under the collective bargaining agreements

Information Technology – matters regarding impact of information technology software, infrastructure, and the administrative and aligned business processes

Instruction, Curricula, and Advising – matters directly concerning these areas

Research, and Graduate and Professional Education – matters directly concerning these areas

Student Affairs – matters directly concerning students

University Structure and Governance – relationships among units at Rutgers, relationships among student and faculty governing bodies, and the structure of the Senate itself